Book Review: The Lighthouse by Paco Roca

650x650_abd84bb90324f55915fa232eca9afa3e177e946242c26a1de8cde44e

 

The Lighthouse is a graphic novel set during the Spanish Civil War. It tells the story of Francisco, a seventeen year old fighting for the Republican side, who is wounded and attempts to flee to an uncertain future in France. However, his wound slows him down and he is given shelter by Telmo, the keeper of an old lighthouse.  While Francisco struggles with both physical and mental wounds, Telmo attempts to raise the young soldier’s spirits by telling him stories about distant lands beyond the sea, forging a friendship that entwines the fates of both men and sets them into motion.

The Lighthouse was first published in 2004. The 2017 English translation edition also contains The Eternal Rewrite, a 2009 afterword by author and illustrator Paco Roca, in which he reflects on the inspirations for his story as well as it’s creation.

The artwork throughout is  both beautiful and distinct, and the style lends itself well to the pace of the story. The story itself I found excellent. It transcends it’s simplicity with a sort of ease that is uncommon in a story of this length—-at only 54 pages (not including the afterword, which is well worth reading), you may well find yourself slowing your reading to savor every last moment.  The Lighthouse is a great quick read for adults, and I would also recommend it to sensible older children (say, pre-teen) provided that they have sensible parents.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Book Review: The Lighthouse by Paco Roca

  1. This is the first time I’m reading a book review on your blog and, “The Lighthouse” sounds to be an interesting read. I like graphic novels…have read the publications of DC Comics…

    Liked by 4 people

    • oglach says:

      I’ve only written one other book review here, and it was also a graphic novel. I appreciate comics and graphic novels for the unique way they tell a story. Many thanks for reading, Maniparna.

      Liked by 4 people

  2. Yes, I love graphic novels, also. There is often so much detail in the illustrations that it slows me down with the reading so I can savour the experience much as you suggested.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. michnavs says:

    The book sounds interesting Og…Gonna try that one..

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Thanks for the reading recommendation, Óglach! I love graphic novels, though I mostly read them in French (helps me learning it 😉 ), and I haven´t heard of that one before but I´m sure I´ll find it in the library of the Institute Francais next time I go there. Do you know “Persepolis” by Marjane Satrapi? I like that one very much 🙂
    Have a happy and peaceful Easter! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • oglach says:

      That is an excellent way to learn any language. My father used comic books to teach kids with reading difficulties. I think I’ll tell that story on my blog soon. 🙂
      I have seen Persepolis at many bookstores and libraries, but I’ve not read it, so thank you for the recommendation. Happy Easter to you as well. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. fictionspawn says:

    Sounds interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This sounds like a good read, thanks for sharing it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

