The Night I Beat Up Conor

 

gw520h343

To look at him today, to hear him run his mouth and then make good on every boast, you would think Conor was born that way—a nearly unbeatable braggart. But it’s me here to tell you he wasn’t, for wasn’t I myself the first man to best him? Not in the warm and cozy confines of the ring with a referee to protect him, neither, no! I beat Conor in a street fight.

I can see by the look on your face that you don’t believe me, but you’ll soon see the light. I remember it like it was yesterday. Yesterday evening, anyway, ’cause I was out on my evening run. Twice a day I ran back in them days. Nine miles in the morning on an empty stomach, nine miles in the evening before Corrie come on. Anyways, I was runnin’ past the gym there just like always, when some young lads come out, laughin’ and yellin’ and carryin’ on. You know the type. So full of life it just makes you want to puke. You just can’t wait until life comes along and teaches ’em a painful lesson. But that night it turned out I was the lesson.

Those sorts of boys always have a ringleader, and Conor was it. Sure they were all just fresh out of a kickboxing workout, just amped with adrenaline and Conor more so than the others. Even back then I have to admit he was a sight to see. He didn’t have the tattoos yet, nor the undershave hair cut—say, do you know where he came by that haircut that half the men in the country have now? He got the idea from me, that’s how! Back in my days that haircut didn’t have a name. There was only one kind of haircut and that was it. I think I impressed him so much by kicking his arse that he wanted to be like me, you see, with the beard and all. Sort of like how the young Indiana Jones grows up to look like the fella that steals the Cross of Coronado from him at the beginning of the third movie.

Where was I? Oh yes, about to give Conor a boot up the hole. So anyways there he is with his mates outside the gym, play sparring and messin’ about. MMA wasn’t exactly a new thing in them days, but it was new enough. In my day, it didn’t have a name. You learned to box from your daddy and you learned some dirty tricks in the schoolyard. Maybe you had an uncle that taught you some judo. You’d watch some Bruce Lee movies and try out some of his moves on your mates, usually when they were too drunk to fight back. In the morning they’d be sore and you’d tell ’em they fell downstairs and they’d be none the wiser. You’d mix all that together and that’s how mixed martial arts was invented.

So here’s Conor throwin’ Muay Thai roundhouse kicks into his mate’s thigh, trying to give him the dead leg. And I seen Bloodsport enough times to know he ain’t doin’ it right. So—and here’s the thing—I stopped and tried to help him. I wasn’t lookin’ for trouble, just tryin’ to be of service to the youth. And so when I says—

“Here now lad,  you wanna see how it’s done right?!”—

he spins around and catches me with a right hook. Now granted, it was dark, and I was sweating and breathing heavy. Also, I was dressed in black. But that’s no excuse for hitting your elders! I have to admit his shot rocked me back on my heels, but I was into fighting stance before the spots faded from before my eyes.

“So that’s the way it’s gonna be!” I shouted.

“Hit him, Conor, hit him!” the other ones yelled. I knew I had to act fast, for though  I knew that I could beat them all one at a time, if they rushed me, my chances were slim.  I’m taller and heavier than Conor, so I scooped him up like a sack of potatoes and slung him over my shoulders. He was kicking and spitting and swearing and his friends were wide-eyed and screaming bloody murder. Never in my life have I seen such a miserable example of our nation’s manhood. I spun him around a few times and then tossed him headfirst into a pile of rubbish.

“I will obliterate you!” he screams at me as he starts to get up. But before I can finish him off, his daddy and his trainer come of the gym shouting “What’s all this?” and “We’ll call the guards” and making excuses like ” he’s only twelve years old.”

Twelve years old or not, it was still a mean right hook.

And I can still say I beat up Conor.

ysvo4oo

Conor’s face after the fight

 

 

This entry was posted in Short Story, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Night I Beat Up Conor

  1. So funny! Love Conor’s “face” after the fight. Thanks Mr O’Mara!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. skat says:

    Now, that was a surprise ending! We don’t have this “dead leg” expression over here and I kept coming across it in “Paddy Clarke, ha ha ha”. So now I get it. I think I may have given it to my sister once or twice, along with a few Indian whatchamacallums on the forearm and smearing grass stains into her new white cardy. She was six years younger (still is), so I can relate to this story. Which, by the way, is a cracker!

    Liked by 2 people

    • oglach says:

      There is a nerve that runs up the outside middle of the thigh and when you give it a good knee or kick, the leg turns to jelly. Hurts. Sounds like you treated your sister like I treated my brothers and sister. That’s why they’re stronger than us now. I’m glad you enjoyed the story, thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my! What a story! I just love the line “so full of life it just makes you want to puke” – it could have come right of my Count’s mouth 😉 And the he was going to be the lesson taught totally made me think of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher character who I just adore! As reminds me the whole character in general in this story. And best of all your reference to Indiana Jones!!!! I’ve been a huge fan since I was a kid and he might have well be the reason why I studied Archaeology! 😄

    Liked by 2 people

  4. haha . . . to this day, Conor can only show himself during Halloween . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  5. michnavs says:

    This gave me a really good laugh..

    Liked by 1 person

  6. 😂😂😂 Oh, my God! I died laughing throughout your story. This has got to be fiction, right? So glad I know how mixed martial arts was discovered. Lol! You’re so funny and talented. I know you’re also a bit mad. All the best writers are.

    Aw, I remember your sweet radish jack-o-lantern. So, Conor’s his name, huh? xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Such a wonderful story! And hilarious too 🙂 looking forward to more!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Excellent story and from what the public see of Mcgregor, it doesn’t sound far-fetched either! Time to fire up twitter and see if he’ll take you up on a rematch I think, get a red panty night of your own!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

