Across the Room and Into the Fire, Pt. 1

In case anyone missed parts 1 through 5 of this story, I’m re-posting them, to be followed by the parts 6 and 7 in a few weeks. Hope you enjoy.

Na trioblóidí

3ZtWH8Zg

This is a love story that has no end.

When I was very young, my family didn’t have much in the way of money. By way  of illustration, here is an early memory—

I was crossing the street with my mother and younger brother. My mother was holding both of us by the hand. In my free hand, I held my “toys”. These were cut-outs from a newspaper ad, pictures of dolls of Frankenstein, Dracula, the Werewolf, and the Mummy. We had almost made it across when I dropped my toys, broke free of my mother, and dashed out into traffic. The paper cut-outs were stuck to the wet road and I was trying desperately to free them, my mother was screaming bloody murder, and my little brother was laughing. Luckily, a meter maid was there to grab me by the ear and haul me off to the curb, using…

View original post 556 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Across the Room and Into the Fire, Pt. 1

  1. Still a captivating read. Keep them coming 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jac forsyth says:

    Never go into the attic.
    I adore your style of writing, and great to see you posting this again, I missed so much the first time around.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ameena k.g says:

    I enjoyed reading this. Looking forward to finding out what was found in the attic, although I have my suspicion 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. inesephoto says:

    Great story, thank you again.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Monochrome nightmares says:

    I really enjoyed this the first time Oglach.
    It’s a wonderful piece of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Very much looking forward to the coming posts. It took me a long while to come back to read parts 1 to 5. I’m so glad I did. I had a few gasps and a few laughs.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Read it again and loved it, again… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

