Peter, I Can See Your House From Up Here

It is often that I think of these mountains—

No time more so than when I walk amongst them.

 

I’ll find that my thoughts are wandering

And see my feet have followed with them.

I stand and stare at my home below.

Someone else lives there now, so I’m told.

 

Never my wish to leave my sacred places—

Never did I dream that strangers would haunt them.

 

I told you that I would be back soon.

You sighed and smiled and just rolled your eyes.

Won’t it be sad, you said, looking away

When all this is gone, gone for the good?

 

I thought you were talking about you and me—

I didn’t realise you meant everything.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Peter, I Can See Your House From Up Here

  1. skat says:

    So nice to see you back, it made my day! Do the words “happy-sad’ mean anything to you? Ask for clarification if they don’t.

    This is one of your best pieces … so far.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. inesephoto says:

    Beautiful song. It must be a song, right?

    Liked by 2 people

  3. jac forsyth says:

    Wow… Houses and Homes. There is an idea of home that exists within us. ‘Someone else lives there now, so I’m told,’ this piece messes around with the layers of that idea. I friggin love your work, it spins out so many stories inside my head.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Monochrome nightmares says:

    WOW.
    An exquisite piece of writing Oglach.
    Enjoyed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. crow says:

    This is wonderful. Also, I get the title.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Heart wrenching and lovely to recite over and over; almost absently as my mind wanders to places I used to love with people who used to love me. I often think of past conversations, as well and find the words one says can mean something entirely different as I grow older and hopefully, wiser.

    You capture nuances in life which have universal themes. Very relate-able,poignant, and bittersweet. I loved this piece.

    Liked by 2 people

    • oglach says:

      So eloquently put. You have so much heart, Rose. I don’t know how you do it all, but we’re all glad you do.
      I always eagerly await your thoughts. Thank you for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sweet Og. We don’t know how much time we have left on this planet or rather, how much time this beautiful earth will allow us humans a free ride. Why not go full throttle?

        Keep writing. I’ll always eat up your words. Delicious melancholy. 😜

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Lovely. Original format

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It made me sad. So many dreams we have, so many wishes and thoughts…yet one day, all are gone for ‘good’…great good? I wonder…

    But, I’m really happy to see you back with a poem… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. sheldonk2014 says:

    Simply beautiful
    Powerful images
    Sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sheldonk2014 says:

    You are so welcome
    I try to come to see everyone one I can
    It’s getting harder
    As always sheldon

    Liked by 1 person

  11. A piece I could read again and again… perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. This reminds me of the phrase “you can never go home again”… and indeed, of why we need not want to: strangers will have ruined everything!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. poeturja says:

    Superb ending. Love when my heart does that extra thump when I “get it” !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

