Untitled

A chained library

Full of half-bound heresies…

Yearning for freedom.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Untitled

  1. megaeggz says:

    This poem is very intriguing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. benmadigan says:

    interesting – reminds me of a real-life story I once heard.
    After the best part of a gentleman’s library had been bequeathed to national institutions before his death, his heirs were in a quandary as to what to do with the rest. It was of no monetary or historical value (no rare first editions) but nevertheless constituted a collection of several hundred books.
    Some wanted to donate to a private library where it would have been “chained, yearning for freedom”.
    Others didn’t.
    It was eventually donated to an organization to be used for educational purposes.

    There’s no point in chaining up ideas and thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • oglach says:

      That is fascinating—were those the exact words, “chained, yearning for freedom?”? If so, I would dearly love to know the man’s name so I could read the full story. Many thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

      • benmadigan says:

        personal info – not a public story and not the exact words you used. Just a similar concept.
        The representative of the organization said “there’s no point in locking them up away from people.They were written to be read and discussed”.
        Just an example of books that risked being chained up and were yearning to be free!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • oglach says:

        I see. That sort of thing can happen when someone passes away; I’m glad the books ended up where they belonged. Thank you for taking the time to explain.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Monochrome nightmares says:

    An excellent Haiku.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dead Donovan says:

    Being chained isn’t really that bad. You can just wait until you turn into a skeleton and then you just let the chains fall off you. It’s a really neat trick. Excellent haiku!
    ~PR

    Liked by 1 person

  5. skat says:

    I like this; the words intrigue me and they immediately conjure memories that I can’t quite put my finger on. I know this; it involves a big, ponderous book and I hear the sound of metal. I think I’m in a telephone box!

    Liked by 1 person

    • oglach says:

      I’m happy you like it; most memories involving telephone boxes are either very good or very bad. I hope yours is a good one, and I hope you’re feeling better.

      Like

  6. Superb haiku. Intelligence and wit. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. michnavs says:

    Jaw dropped….this is beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

