the Lily’s guise…

Scéalta Ealaíne

Easter lily by Yanny Peters ‘Easter Lily’ by Yanny Petters  (a painting on glass)

Did you know that in 1926, Cumann na mBan introduced the Easter Lily as a symbol of remembrance for those who died in the Easter Rising?  Previously used as Easter decoration in churches, the lily was said to have sprung up where drops of Christ’s sweat had fallen to the ground, in his final hours along the road to Calvary.

I learned this (and much more) from the artist Yanny Petters who has a beautiful piece in the upcoming group exhibition at the Olivier Cornet Gallery.  This exhibition entitled “Republic” is a meditation on the aspirations of the Proclamation of the Irish Republic and a commemoration of all those who died in the Easter Rising of 1916.

Olivier Cornet at the front door of the Gallery in Great Denmark Street Olivier Cornet at the front door of the gallery in Great Denmark Street

The painting by Petters uses a technique called Verre Églomisé

View original post 268 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to the Lily’s guise…

  1. Thank you for sharing this invaluable information. I always associated lilies with funerals and never knew why — makes sense now.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oglach says:

    You’re welcome, and thanks for reading. Eoin’s blog is a great source for art and history. Always worth reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for Sharing my post Óglach

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So, you love books and art. Do you have a favorite painting or art piece?

    Liked by 1 person

    • oglach says:

      “Dogs Playing Poker”. At first glance, it’s merely what the title suggests; but upon closer inspection the work begins to reveal layers of subtlety as concerns the modern plight of man and beast alike, covering classism, capitalism, sexism, substance use/abuse, etc., all framed within the context of a game involving skill and chance.
      There’s five seconds of your life you’ll never get back. No, I can’t say I do have favourite; I have a wide range of tastes and I suppose my favourite of the moment just depends on my mood. Suppose I should write a post about my favourite artists, at least.
      What about you?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. We’re going to Vegas in a couple of hours and just wanted to quickly say that I should’ve guessed the dogs playing poker painting! Haha!! Ah, you crack me up.

    Um, I love photomontage and Hannah Hoch. I do like some works of Kahlo, Glimt, Picasso… Dada Movement artists such as Breton,Taeuber-Arp, and Man Ray.

    106 degree temperatures in Vegas! Ugh!! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  6. skat says:

    I had never heard that reference to Christ’s blood shed on the road to Calvary. My taste in Art is all over the map, as is my taste in music, books, poetry, food – everything really. I do love the Canadian artist, Alex Colville though, as well as anything by the Group of Seven. As for Art outside my own country, I like some Klimt, Degas, and Picasso, but I have a soft spot for much of Chagall, and have even written poems prompted by his a few of his pieces.
    I’m really enjoying your blog. It’s a treat!

    Liked by 1 person

    • oglach says:

      Like you, my tastes in everything vary widely. I don’t have a ‘favourite’ anything, just depends on the mood. I’m not familiar with many Canadian artists; I do like Jillian Tamaki, though. 🙂 I like all of the artists you mentioned, as well as some of the surrealists; I suppose en plain air Impressionists have a special place in my heart, especially Frank O’Meara. Many thanks for reading, I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

