Untying the Knot

The Republic of Ireland has made a monumental decision to allow constitutionally backed same sex marriages–actual marriages, as opposed to “civil unions.”

Well done, and it’s about time.

For those who voted “no”, I have no disrespect for your views, barring those that were blatantly homophobic rather than religious in nature. Although I’m not gay myself, I’ve been with the same red-headed Scotswoman for the past couple of decades and there were times when I wish I was born gay; it may have made life simpler in some ways.

Just kidding honey. Love you.

And just as I love my partner, the LGBT community have partners that they love too, And now they have public validation of their love. It’s not so much that they needed it; I’ve never felt that any priest, judge, or government could tell me whom I cared for. It’s that they deserve it, the people of Ireland have recognised this,and we’ve come a long way in a relatively short period of time.

So to those who voted “yes”, I salute you. For your bravery, your compassion, but most of all, for your common sense. As has been pointed out by many public/political figures over the past year, we all either have a gay family member, friend, or co-worker, and they deserve the same rights and respect as everyone else.

But on top of all that, you have sent a clear message to the entire world that equality means equality for everyone, regardless of their race, colour, creed, or in this particular case, sexual orientation, which is obviously no one’s business but their own.

Among other places, the United States could take a page out of your book.

So you’ve untied the Gordian knot of homophobia, at least on paper.

Now, let us see if this generous support for folks of walks of life different from our own can be extended across political and cultural lines. I’m proud to be Irish every day, but particularly today, and my thoughts are with you.

Now, if you will, keep your thoughts with me and protect me from that red-head I was telling you about. She’s as beautiful as anything, but she can be like Grendel’s mammy when she gets upset.

Slan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

